Skip to main content



The Symposium on SDN Research (SOSR) is the premiere venue for research publications on SDN, building on past years' successful SOSR and HotSDN (Hot Topics in Software Defined Networking) workshops. This year, SOSR will be co-located with the Open Networking Summit (ONS) and the USENIX Symposium on Networked Systems Design and Implementation (NSDI'16), providing greater opportunity for industry and academia to jointly explore and debate recent developments related to all aspects of SDN.

ACM SOSR 2016 will be held at the Santa Clara Convention Center, Santa Clara, CA on

  • 9am to 5pm   |   Monday, March 14
  • 2:30pm to 5:30pm   |   Tuesday, March 15



Access to ACM SOSR is included as part of ONS2016 conference registration. SOSR-only registration is also available here.


Program (Accepted Papers)

FLANC: A Formal Logic for Authorizing Network Control

Arpit Gupta (Princeton University), Nick Feamster (Princeton University), Laurent Vanveber (ETH Zurich)

Scalable Multi-Failure Fast Failover via Forwarding Table Compression

Brent Stephens (UW-Madison), Alan L. Cox (Rice University), Scott Rixner (Rice University)

Beehive: Simple Distributed Programming in Software-Defined Networks

Soheil Hassas Yeganeh (University of Toronto), Yashar Ganjali (University of Toronto)

Incremental Deployment of SDN in Hybrid Enterprise and ISP Networks

David Ke Hong (University of Michigan), Yadi Ma (Hewlett Packard Labs), Sujata Banerjee (Hewlett Packard Labs), Z. Morley Mao (University of Michigan)

Stitching Inter-Domain Paths over IXPs

Vasileios Kotronis (ETH Zurich, Switzerland), Rowan Klöti (ETH Zurich, Switzerland), Matthias Rost (TU Berlin, Germany), Panagiotis Georgopoulos (ETH Zurich, Switzerland), Bernhard Ager (ETH Zurich, Switzerland), Stefan Scmid (TU Berlin, Germany & T-Labs, Germany), Xenofontas Dimitropoulos (Foundation of Research and Technology Hellas (FORTH), Greece)

KLEIN: A Minimally Disruptive Design for an Elastic Cellular Core

Zafar Ayyub Qazi (Stony Brook University), Phani Krishna (Stony Brook University), Vyas Sekar (Carnegie Mellon University), Vijay Gopalakrishnan (AT&T Research), Kaustubh Joshi (AT&T Research), Samir Das (Stony Brook University)

Improving SDN with InSPired Switches

Roberto Bifulco (NEC Laboratories Europe), Julien Boite (Thales Communications & Security), Mathieu Bouet (Thales Communications & Security), Fabian Schneider (NEC Laboratories Europe)

P2P Offloading in Mobile Networks using SDN

Ryan Saunders (School of Computing, University of Utah), Junguk Cho (School of Computing, University of Utah), Frederico Rocha (School of Computing, University of Utah), Arijit Banerjee (School of Computing, University of Utah), Jacobus Van der Merwe (School of Computing, University of Utah), Ryan Saunders (School of Computing, University of Utah)

MOZART: Temporal Coordination of Measurement

Xuemei Liu (University of Southern California), Meral Shirazipour (Ericsson Research), Minlan Yu (University of Southern California), Ying Zhang (HP Labs), Ying Zhang (Hp Labs)

Isolating and Tolerating SDN Application Failures with LegoSDN

Balakrishnan Chandrasekaran (Duke University), Brendan Tschaen (Duke University), Theophilus Benson (Duke University)

Safe and Flexible Controller Upgrades for SDNs

Karla Saur (Intel Labs), Joseph Collard (UMass Amherst), Nate Foster (Cornell University), Arjun Guha (UMass Amherst), Laurent Vanbever (ETH Zurich), Michael Hicks (University of Maryland, College Park)

Your Data Center Switch is Trying Too Hard

Xin Jin (Princeton University), Nathan Farrington (Rockley Photonics), Jennifer Rexford (Princeton University)

HULA: Scalable Load Balancing using Programmable Data-Planes

Naga Katta (Princeton University), Mukesh Hira (VMware), Changhoon Kim (Barefoot Networks), Anirudh Sivaraman (MIT), Jennifer Rexford (Princeton University)

CacheFlow: Dependency-Aware Rule-Caching for Software-Defined Networks

Naga Katta (Princeton University), Omid Alipourfard (University of Southern California), Jennifer Rexford (Princeton University), David Walker (Princeton University), ()

Ravel: A Database-Defined Network

Anduo Wang (UIUC), Xueyuan Mei (UIUC), Jason Croft (UIUC), Matthew Caesar (UIUC), Brighten Godfrey (UIUC)

Felix: Implementing Traffic Measurement on End Hosts Using Program Analysis

Haoxian Chen (Tsinghua University), Nate Foster (Cornell University), Jake Silverman (Cornell University), Michael Whittaker (Cornell University), Brandon Zhang (Cornell University), Rene Zhang (Cornell University), Haoxian Chen (Tsinghua University)

Advancing Experience Oriented Networking to the Home

Ilker Nadi Bozkurt (Duke University), Theophilus Benson (Duke University)



General Chair

Robert Beverly (NPS)


Program Chairs

  • Martin Casado (VMWare)
  • Brighten Godfrey (UIUC)


SOSR Steering Committee

  • Nate Foster (Cornell), Chair
  • Bruce Davie (VMware)
  • Nick Feamster (Princeton)
  • Guru Parulkar (Stanford / ONRC)


Program Committee

  • Theo Benson (Duke)
  • Jun Bi (Tsinghua)
  • Marco Canini (Université catholique de Louvain)
  • Dan Daly (Intel)
  • Dinesh Dutt (Cumulus)
  • Nathan Farrington (Rockley Photonics)
  • Rodrigo Fonseca (Brown)
  • Yashar Ganjali (University of Toronto)
  • Igor Gashinksy (Yahoo)
  • Vijay Gill (SalesForce)
  • Arjun Guha (UMass Amherst)
  • Dave Levin (University of Maryland)
  • Li Erran Li (Uber)
  • Boon Thau Loo (UPenn)
  • Z. Morley Mao (Michigan)
  • JC Martin (Medallia Inc)
  • Nick McKeown (Stanford)
  • Pere Monclus (PLUMgrid)
  • Raquel Morera (Verizon)
  • Tim Nelson (Brown University)
  • Ben Pfaff (VMware)
  • Rajiv Ramanathan (VMware)
  • Luigi Rizzo (Università di Pisa)
  • Rob Sherwood (Big Switch)
  • Miruna Stratan (Goldman Sachs)
  • Jeremy Stribling (Keybase)
  • Andreas Terzis (Google)
  • Laurent Vanbever (ETH Zurich)
  • Jia Wang (AT&T Research)
  • Tilman Wolf (UMass)


SOSR Supporters

       Akamai       VMware       Facebook       HP




Learn More About SOSR 2016


Pathfinder Sponsors

Start-Up Sponsors

Industry Partners

Media Partners

Analyst Parters