Open Source Summit North America

This event has passed. Please visit the upcoming Open Source Summit North America.

Program Committee

A very special thank you to our Open Source Summit North America 2020 Program Committee!

  • Chris Aniszczyk VP, Developer Relations, The Linux Foundation and CTO, CNCF
  • Jono Bacon OSS Event Chair & Founder, Jono Bacon Consulting
  • Lukas Bulwahn Software Safety Key Expert, LF ELISA Project & BMW
  • Donnie Berkholz OSS Event Chair & SVP, Product Management, Percona
  • Divya Bhargov Engineering Director, Greenplum R&D, VMware
  • Dieu Cao Product Lead, Tanzu Application Service, VMware
  • Jerry Cooperstein Director of Training, The Linux Foundation
  • Jonathan Corbet Executive Editor,
  • Frédéric Desbiens Program Manager, IoT and Edge Computing, Eclipse Foundation
  • Jake Edge Journalist & Editor,
  • Lee Elston Instructor / Course Maintainer, The Linux Foundation
  • Neville George Manager, Comcast
  • Kathy Giori Director, Product Engineering, ZEDEDA
  • Dr. Ibrahim Haddad is the Executive Director of the LF AI & Data Foundation . Throughout his career, Haddad has held technology and portfolio management roles at Ericsson Research, the Open Source Development Labs, Motorola, Palm, Hewlett-Packard, the Linux Foundation and Samsung Research. He writes and speaks on topics ranging from legal compliance to using open source as an R&D tool to drive collaboration and innovation. [@IbrahimAtLinux]

  • Darren Hart Distinguished Engineer, Ampere Computing
  • Maureen Helm Principal Software Engineer, Intel
  • Dr. Ofer Hermoni Co-Founder, SybarIP & LF AI Technical Advisory Council Chairperson
  • Nicole Huesman Community & Developer Advocate, Intel Corporation
  • Starlord Founder, Zilliz
  • Sunil Kamath Director of Product Management, Microsoft
  • Greg is among a distinguished group of software developers who maintain Linux at the kernel level. In his role as Linux Foundation Fellow, he continues his work as the maintainer for the Linux stable kernel branch and a variety of subsystems while working in a fully neutral environment.

  • Shuah Khan OSS Event Chair & Linux Fellow, The Linux Foundation
  • Jessica Kim ED Ecosystem Development/ Lead, Huawei & LF AI Outreach Chair
  • Miranda LeBlanc Solutions Engineer, Liberty Mutual Insurance
  • Sasha Levin Sr. Staff Software Engineer, Google
  • Joshua Lock Open Source Software Engineer, VMware
  • Yanjun Ma Director, Deep Learning Platform, Baidu
  • Dr. Michael Maximilien CTO, Cloud Advocacy, IBM
  • Dr. Michael Meskes CIO, Instaclustr Group & GM, credativ GmbH
  • Ron Minnich Software Engineer, Google
  • Maggie Neterval Software Engineer, Google
  • Nicole Pappler CTO & Founder, AlektoMetis
  • Tim Pepper Open Source Software Engineer, VMware
  • Josephene Pynadath Product Designer, Pivotal
  • Tameika Reed Founder & CEO, Women in Linux
  • Steven Rostedt Software Engineer, Google
  • Nithya A. Ruff recently joined Amazon as the Head of Amazon’s Open Source Program Office. Open Source has proven to be one of the world’s most prolific enablers of innovation and collaboration and Amazon’s customers increasingly value open source innovation and the and cloud’s role in helping them adopt and run important open source services. She drives open source culture and coordination inside of Amazon and engagement with external communities. Prior to Amazon, she started and grew Comcast and Western Digital’s Open Source Program Offices. Open Source Program Offices are a critical part of a company’s digital transformation and innovation journey.  

    Nithya has been director-at-large on the Linux Foundation Board for the last 5 years and in 2019 was elected to be Chair of the influential Linux Foundation Board. She works actively to advance the mission of the Linux Foundation around building sustainable ecosystems that are built on open collaboration. She is a passionate advocate and a speaker for opening doors to new and diverse people in technology and can often be seen speaking and writing on this topic. Nithya graduated with an M.S. in Computer Science from NDSU and an MBA from the University of Rochester, Simon Business School and is an aspiring corporate board director and governance enthusiast. You can follow her on twitter @nithyaruff and you can find her on 

  • Shilla Saebi Sr. Open Source Program Manager, Comcast
  • Laura Santamaria OSS Event Chair & Developer Advocate, Pulumi Corporation
  • Timothy Serewicz Training Program Director, The Linux Foundation
  • Jason Smith Principal Engineer, UL LLC
  • Kate Stewart is a Senior Director of Strategic Programs, responsible for the Open Compliance programs encompassing the SPDX, FOSSology, OpenChain, and other compliance-related projects. Kate was one of the founders of SPDX, and is currently the specification lead. Since joining The Linux Foundation, she has also launched Real-Time Linux and Zephyr Project.

    With almost 30 years of experience in the software industry, she has held a variety of roles and worked as a developer in Canada, Australia, and the US and for the last 20 years has managed software development teams in the US, Canada, UK, India, and China. She received her Master’s in computer science from the University of Waterloo and her Bachelor’s of computer science (co-op program) from the University of Manitoba.

  • Christopher Temple Arm Germany GmbH
  • Theodore Ts’o Sr. Staff Engineer, Google
  • Jean-Marie Verdun Senior Strategist Open Platform, HPE
  • Behan Webster Principal Consultant, Converse in Code
  • Dr. Han Xiao Founder & CEO, Jina AI
  • Denise Yu Senior Software Engineer, GitHub
  • Elena Zannoni Sr. Engineering Director, Oracle
  • Zhipeng (Howard) Huang Principle Engineer, Huawei